Giving Thanks

September 11, 2008 at 6:32 pm Leave a comment

The best things in life are free.  On this day, above all days, this is especially true (at least for me).  I can’t believe it has been 7 years since the 9/11 terrorist attacks.  While my parents answered the question “Where were you when Kennedy was shot?”, my generation will be asked “Where were you when the Towers fell?”

I was in my cooking class (I went to a technical high school) in 11th grade.  A classmates boyfriend called her and told her a plane flew into the WTC.  We all thought it was a fluke, until he called back and said it happened again.  At that moment our class was back on the bus to the main building (we had cooking in another part of my city).  The entire school was on lock down and my friends Ally and Katie tried to do anything we could to find out information.  When I got home with my mom an hour later, all we did was watch the tv in terror.  As someone who knows a victim and a survivor of the 9/11 attacks, this day especially tugs at the heart strings.

So today, do something good.  Whether it be holding the door for someone, complimenting a co-worker, or smiling at a stranger.  Don’t do it for “good karma”, do it just to do it.  And more importantly, next time see you a soldier, thank them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

BOGO Event of the Week Love Tag!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


